The Lampedusa Cross at Holy Angels, Hale Barns

Symbol of rescue, sign of hope, sign of our times

Mary Nono, our Parish Volunteer at Holy Angels pens her thoughts on the refugee crisis, stimulated by having the Lampedusa Cross in the parish.

mother-and-childA shipwrecked shore line of rocks and sand and shells, broken boat, rotten wood, lost soft toys once held firm in courageous little hands, clinging tightly to life and limb.

Turbulent seas rush by, white-topped waves crashing over bow and gunwhale, feet in ‘freezing’ water floods fear through limp limbs.

Messages and prayers of encouragement penned byolivia priests, Sicilian plumbers and visiting Christians Together.

Babes in arms and toddlers draw boats and lots of people praying for you and your safety.

Praise and 24 hours of Adoration recollect minds and hearts.

signing-messages-of-hope‘Stay Awake’ pray-ers encircle the cross, moved to touch your lives with theirs,  knowing that this wood once held you.

Teens open their hearts to growing understanding of other youngsters, adulthood emerging with empathy, the realization that somehow, but for different continents and country, the loss could be theirs.

What shall I say to someone whose Mum and Dad both have drowned? How do I express my stunned silent solidarity?  What can I say? How can I express the shock  I feel to know you no longer have your brothers and sisters? Your home?  Is there anything I can say?  I will say ‘welcome’!

I will write these words of hope with openness and generosity in my heart. I willfamily encourage you.

I will trust God and I commit myself to make the world a better place for us all. I will pray not to be distracted from my commitment. I will share my hopes and dreams for our world.

I will share myself.

I will love you. ‘Welcome! Welcome! Welcome!’

2 thoughts on “The Lampedusa Cross at Holy Angels, Hale Barns

  1. I am so proud of Mary Nono, my aunty, and her fellow volunteers at the Parish. This is how we should respond to the refugees, as a country. I find their series of ambitious efforts, to help refugees settle in a strange place that isn’t their home, inspiring. Their efforts span from the art they have created, the words of welcome that they have written to the offering of spare coats and scarves for the winters ahead. In my eyes, this combination of words and actions is the best way to make these refugees feel a sense of warmth in these unimaginable times. Well done all !

Leave a Reply

